Prateek Kuhad is a prominent name in the Indian Indie music scene and anyone who knows me, even a little, knows that I’m a big fan of his music. It was around two years ago when I heard him for the first time, I was sitting at Nariman Point and it came to my mind that a friend of mine had recommended me a song from him which would perfectly go with the setting. So I thought I’d give it a listen and that changed me entirely. I was never a fan of romantic songs but Prateek Kuhad’s voice has something that instantly connected with me. Prateek Kuhad has released a lot of songs in both English and Hindi and has even sung for a few Bollywood movies. You can definitely sense the influence of artists like John Mayor in his song writing and singing. His music is soothing and has a feel good factor associated with them.

Here’s a list of my favorite songs by him-

Dil Bepervah– this is a song that is written and sung by Prateek Kuhad and Ankur Tiwari and is one of the most well written and beautiful song by them. It talks about following your heart with a very nice acoustic guitar and slow drums being played in the background.
Tune Kaha– this song is just a beautiful description of a perfect relationship. The slow drums and a guitar perfectly pairs up with Prateek Kuhad’s beautiful lyrics and voice.
Tum Jab Pass– this is the first song that I heard from him and I instantly feel in love with his music. This song perfectly displays his talent and his deep lyricism. Check out the live version of this song because they are equally beautiful, if not more.
Yeh Pal– this is my favorite song from Prateek Kuhad’s debut EP ‘Raat Raazi’. The way he uses a very smile production style to compliment his voice is what makes me like these songs even more.
Oh love– this song kind of reminded me of Mumford and sons. A simple and beautiful song that is going to leave a smile on your face. This song is from his first full length album ‘In Tokens and Charms’
The Cold/Mess EP– I just couldn’t select one track from this EP because it’s one of the most beautiful projects of last year. Every song on this EP tells a different story and makes you wonder how can this man be so talented. It’s definitely a trip to all your heartbreaks and sorrows and you might even shed a few tears here and there but all of that is worth it!
Cold/Mess– I had to give a special mention to his song as this is the best Prateek Kuhad song according to me. Cold/mess is a song about a couple who are deeply in love but can’t live together because they are just not meant to be. The lyrics, the music, the high notes and even the music video of this song everything about this is nothing short of perfection. This song can be the most heartbreaking song you’ve ever heard of the most beautiful, either way you’re going to fall in love with him.

We’re living in the time when our life has become really fast and everything around us seems to be in a hurry. There are people who are working more than 100 hours a week, people suffering from heartbreaks and sorrows and what not. Sometimes we should slow down and Prateek Kuhad makes you do that. His music is going to make you cry and smile. It’s going to give you a something which we all need i.e. calmness.

Do check out these songs, the link to each song is attached to the name of the song.

3 thoughts on “Artist Spotlight- Prateek Kuhad

Leave a comment